- The Washington Times
Tuesday, March 31, 2020

After the NFL and the NFLPA agreed to a new collective bargaining agreement that included an expansion of the playoffs, NFL teams voted Tuesday to introduce a 14-team postseason starting with the 2020 season.

The postseason now will feature seven teams from each conference, and only the top seeds from the AFC and NFC will receive first-round byes. The No. 7 seed will play at the No. 2 seed during a six-game Wild Card Weekend, while the No. 3 still will host the No. 6 and No. 4 will host No. 5.

The rest will remain the same: The four division winners in each conference will be seeded No. 1 through No. 4 based on record and Nos. 5 through 7 will be wild-card teams.

The jam-packed Wild Card Weekend will feature three games on Jan. 9, 2021 and three more on Jan. 10, 2021.

Further, the league announced that CBS and NBC each will receive the broadcast rights for an additional wild-card game. In recent years, the four wild-card games would be doled out one apiece to CBS, NBC, Fox and ESPN.

If there were seven playoff teams per conference in 2019, the 8-8 Pittsburgh Steelers and the 9-7 Los Angeles Rams would have been the No. 7 seeds. 

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.