By Associated Press - Thursday, March 26, 2020

GILLETTE, Wyo. (AP) - Wyoming’s governor signed a bill making daylight saving time permanent in the state.

Republican Gov. Mark Gordon signed the bill Monday, The Gillette News Record reports.

Previous measures failed in the Wyoming Legislature, but Republican state Rep. Eric Barlow said residents are fed up with changing the clocks during the year.

Daylight saving time advances clocks during warmer months so darkness falls at a later time. Under federal law, daylight saving time is observed between the second Sunday of March and the first Sunday of November.

States currently require federal approval to make changes regarding daylight saving time.

The Daylight Act was introduced in the U.S. House in 2019 but stalled in the House Subcommittee on Consumer Protection and Commerce. The measure would allow states to institute the time change.

No fewer than four western states need to enact a daylight saving law before they can petition the U.S. Secretary of Transportation to make the change.

The states among those needed for approval are Wyoming, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Utah.

Idaho passed the change into law and the Utah Legislature recently voted in favor. Daylight saving bills failed in Colorado and South Dakota.

Copyright © 2023 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide