- Associated Press
Monday, December 21, 2020

Second-ranked Clemson and fourth-ranked Notre Dame headline The Associated Press All-Atlantic Coast Conference teams and individual awards for the 2020 season.

The Tigers, who beat the Fighting Irish in Saturday’s league championship game for a sixth straight title, had a league-high 10 selections in results released Monday after voting by 14 sports writers who cover the conference. That list included quarterback Trevor Lawrence as the offensive player of the year and freshman defensive end Myles Murphy in a tie for league newcomer of the year with Miami quarterback D’Eriq King, a redshirt senior who transferred from Houston.

The Fighting Irish – who gave up their cherished football independence for this year to join the league race due to the coronavirus pandemic – was second with nine selections. That included linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah as the league’s defensive player of the year, while Brian Kelly was voted coach of the year after leading Notre Dame to a 10-0 regular-season record.

Both Clemson and Notre Dame are headed to the College Football Playoff, giving the ACC two playoff teams for the first time.

North Carolina and Miami were next with six selections each, with the Orange Bowl-bound Tar Heels claiming both first-team running back positions with Javonte Williams and Michael Carter, as well as receiver Dyami Brown as the only unanimous selection on the team.

North Carolina State offensive lineman Ikem Ekwonu was voted to the team at both guard and tackle positions after starting at both spots this year, while Clemson running back Travis Etienne – a two-time league offensive player of the year – was a second-team pick both at running back and as an all-purpose player.

The 2020 Associated Press All-Atlantic Coast Conference team, as selected by a panel of 14 sports writers who regularly cover the league for newspapers or broadcast outlets. Players at all positions are listed alphabetically with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown; “u-” denotes unanimous selections:

First team


QB - Trevor Lawrence, Clemson, 6-6, 220, jr., Cartersville, Georgia

RB - Javonte Williams, North Carolina, 5-10, 220, jr., Wallace, North Carolina

RB - Michael Carter, North Carolina, 5-8, 199, sr., Navarre, Florida

OT - Liam Eichenberg, Notre Dame, 6-6, 302, gr., Cleveland

OT - Christian Darrisaw, Virginia Tech, 6-5, 314, jr., Upper Marlboro, Maryland

OG - Aaron Banks, Notre Dame, 6-6, 330, sr., Alameda, California

OG - Tommy Kraemer, Notre Dame, 6-6, 317, gr., Cincinnati

C - Jimmy Morrissey, Pittsburgh, 6-3, 305, r-sr., Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania

TE - Hunter Long, Boston College, 6-5, 253, r-jr., Exeter, New Hampshire

u-WR - Dyami Brown, North Carolina, 6-1, 185, jr., Charlotte, North Carolina

WR - Amari Rodgers, Clemson, 5-10, 210, sr., Knoxville, Tennessee

All-purpose player - Khalil Herbert, Virginia Tech, 5-9, 212, gr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

K - Jose Borregales, Miami, 5-10, 205, r-sr., Miami


DE - Rashad Weaver, Pittsburgh, 6-5, 270, r-sr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

DE - Jaelan Phillips, Miami, 6-5, 266, r-jr., Redlands, California

DT - Alim McNeill, North Carolina State, 6-2, 320, jr., Raleigh, North Carolina

DT - Bryan Bresee, Clemson (tie), 6-5, 300, fr., Damascus, Maryland

DT - Miles Fox, Wake Forest (tie), 6-1, 286, gr., Lawrenceville, Georgia

LB - Payton Wilson, North Carolina State, 6-4, 240, r-so., Hillsborough, North Carolina

LB - Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame, 6-2, 215, sr., Hampton, Virginia

LB - Chazz Surratt, North Carolina, 6-2, 225, gr., Denver, North Carolina

CB - Asante Samuel Jr., Florida State, 5-10, 184, jr., Sunrise, Florida

CB - Derion Kendrick, Clemson, 6-0, 190, jr., Rock Hill, South Carolina

S - Divine Deablo, Virginia Tech, 6-3, 226, r-sr., Winston-Salem, North Carolina

S - Kyle Hamilton, Notre Dame, 6-4, 219, so., Atlanta

P - Pressley Harvin III, Georgia Tech, 6-0, 255, sr., Alcolu, South Carolina

Second team


QB - Sam Howell, North Carolina, 6-1, 225, so., Indian Trail, North Carolina

RB - Kyren Williams, Notre Dame, 5-9, 195, so., St. Louis

RB - Travis Etienne, Clemson, 5-10, 205, sr., Jennings, Louisiana

OT - Robert Hainsey, Notre Dame, 6-5, 290, sr., Pittsburgh

OT - Jackson Carman, Clemson (tie), 6-5, 335, jr., Fairfield, Ohio

OT - Ikem Ekwonu, North Carolina State (tie), 6-4, 325, so., Charlotte, North Carolina

OG - Joshua Ezeudu, North Carolina, 6-4, 325, so., Lawrenceville, Georgia

OG - Ikem Ekwonu, North Carolina State, 6-4, 325, so., Charlotte, North Carolina

C - Jarrett Patterson, Notre Dame, 6-5, 305, jr., Laguna Hills, California

TE - Brevin Jordan, Miami, 6-3, 245, jr., Las Vegas

WR - Zay Flowers, Boston College, 5-11, 178, so., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

WR - Jaquarii Roberson, Wake Forest, 6-1, 182, r-jr., Murfreesboro, North Carolina

All-purpose player - Travis Etienne, Clemson, 5-10, 205, sr., Jennings, Louisiana

K - Alex Kessman, Pittsburgh, 6-3, 190, r-sr., Clarkston, Michigan


DE - Patrick Jones II, Pittsburgh, 6-5, 260, r-sr., Chesapeake, Virginia

DE - Chris Rumph II, Duke, 6-4, 235, r-jr., Gainesville, Florida

DT - Jared Goldwire, Louisville, 6-6, 305, sr., Tacoma, Washington

DT - Jarrod Hewitt, Virginia Tech, 6-1, 280, r-sr., Venice, Florida

LB - Isaiah McDuffie, Boston College, 6-1, 224, r-jr., Buffalo, New York

LB - Charles Snowden, Virginia, 6-7, 240, sr., Silver Spring, Maryland

LB - Baylon Spector, Clemson, 6-2, 230, gr., Calhoun, Georgia

CB - Andrew Booth Jr., Clemson, 6-0, 195, so., Dacula, Georgia

CB - Al Blades Jr., Miami (tie), 6-1, 192, jr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida

CB - Ifeatu Melifonwu, Syracuse (tie), 6-3, 213, r-jr., South Grafton, Massachusetts

CB - Nick McCloud, Notre Dame (tie), 6-1, 192, gr., Rock Hill, South Carolina

S - Nolan Turner, Clemson, 6-1, 205, r-sr., Vestavia Hills, Alabama

S - Bubba Bolden, Miami (tie), 6-3, 200, r-jr., Las Vegas

S - Paris Ford, Pittsburgh (tie), 6-0, 190, r-jr., Pittsburgh

P - Lou Hedley, Miami, 6-4, 220, r-jr., Mandurah, Australia

Coach of the year - Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

Offensive player of the year - Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

Defensive player of the year - Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame

Newcomer of the year - (tie) D’Eriq King, Miami, qb, 5-11, 202, r-sr., Manvel, Texas; Myles Murphy, Clemson, de, 6-5, 275, fr., Marietta, Georgia

Voting panel: Rick Bozich, WDRB-TV, Louisville, Kentucky; Lauren Brownlow, WRAL.com, Raleigh, North Carolina; Bennett Conlin, The Daily Progress of Charlottesville, Virginia; Matthew Connolly, The State of Columbia, South Carolina; Tom D’Angelo, Palm Beach (Florida) Post; John Dell, The Winston-Salem (North Carolina) Journal; Jerry DiPaola, (Pittsburgh) Tribune Total Media; Eric Hansen, South Bend (Indiana) Tribune; Trevor Hass, Boston.com; Nate Mink, The Post-Standard of Syracuse, New York; Jonas Pope, The News & Observer of Raleigh, North Carolina/The Herald-Sun of Durham, North Carolina; Curt Weiler, Tallahassee (Florida) Democrat; Steve Wiseman, The News & Observer of Raleigh, North Carolina/The Herald-Sun of Durham, North Carolina; Norm Wood, The Daily Press of Newport News, Virginia.


More AP college football: https://apnews.com/hub/college-football and https://twitter.com/AP_Top25


Follow Aaron Beard on Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/aaronbeardap

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.